Palumpa 2017-12-08T13:37:13+00:00

Local government area in the Northern Territory, Australia
Victoria Daly Regional Council
Northern Territory
Victoria Daly Shire.jpg
Population2,810 (2016 census)[1]
 • Density0.016699/km2 (0.04325/sq mi)
Area168,277 km2 (64,972.1 sq mi)
MayorBetty Sullivan
Council seatKatherine East (outside LGA)[2]
RegionKatherine Region
Territory electorate(s)Stuart
Federal Division(s)Lingiari
Victoria Daly Regional Council.jpg
WebsiteVictoria Daly Regional Council
LGAs around Victoria Daly Regional Council:
West Daly Unincorporated NT Roper Gulf
Wyndham-East Kimberley Victoria Daly Regional Council Roper Gulf
Halls Creek Central Desert Barkly

The Victoria Daly Regional Council is a local government area in the Northern Territory of Australia. The shire covers an area of 153,287 square kilometres (59,184 sq mi) and had a population of approximately 2,800 at the 2016 Census.


In October 2006 the Northern Territory Government announced the reform of local government areas. The intention of the reform was to improve and expand the delivery of services to towns and communities across the Northern Territory by establishing eleven new shires. The Victoria Daly Shire was created on 1 July 2008 as were the remaining ten shires. The first election for the Shire was held on 25 October 2008.

A general election was held on 24 March 2012. Councillor Betty Sullivan was elected Mayor of Victoria Daly Shire Council.

The Shire became the Victoria Daly Region on 1 January 2014.[3]

Most of the land now part of the Region used to be unincorporated, but several existing LGAs were merged into it:

On 1 July 2014, the boundaries on its west side were revised to create a new local government area called the West Daly Region which consisted of the following three wards from the Victoria Daly Region - Nganmarriyanga, Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi and Tyemirri.[4]


The Victoria Daly Regional Council is divided into 5 wards, which is governed by 6 councillors:

  • Pine Creek (1)
  • Milngin (1)
  • Timber Creek (2)
  • Walangeri (1)
  • Daguragu (1)

Localities and communities

Land within the Victoria Daly Shire was divided in 2007 into bounded areas for the purpose of creating an address for a property. Most bounded areas are called "localities" while those associated with aboriginal communities are called "communities".[5][6]




  1. ^ Australian Bureau of Statistics (27 June 2017). "Victoria Daly (R)". 2016 Census QuickStats. Retrieved 4 April cite.citation{font-style:inherit}.mw-parser-output .citation q{quotes:"\"""\"""'""'"}.mw-parser-output .citation .cs1-lock-free a{background:url("//")no-repeat;background-position:right .1em center}.mw-parser-output .citation .cs1-lock-limited a,.mw-parser-output .citation .cs1-lock-registration a{background:url("//")no-repeat;background-position:right .1em center}.mw-parser-output .citation .cs1-lock-subscription a{background:url("//")no-repeat;background-position:right .1em center}.mw-parser-output .cs1-subscription,.mw-parser-output .cs1-registration{color:#555}.mw-parser-output .cs1-subscription span,.mw-parser-output .cs1-registration span{border-bottom:1px dotted;cursor:help}.mw-parser-output .cs1-ws-icon a{background:url("//")no-repeat;background-position:right .1em center}.mw-parser-output code.cs1-code{color:inherit;background:inherit;border:inherit;padding:inherit}.mw-parser-output .cs1-hidden-error{display:none;font-size:100%}.mw-parser-output .cs1-visible-error{font-size:100%}.mw-parser-output .cs1-maint{display:none;color:#33aa33;margin-left:0.3em}.mw-parser-output .cs1-subscription,.mw-parser-output .cs1-registration,.mw-parser-output .cs1-format{font-size:95%}.mw-parser-output .cs1-kern-left,.mw-parser-output .cs1-kern-wl-left{padding-left:0.2em}.mw-parser-output .cs1-kern-right,.mw-parser-output .cs1-kern-wl-right{padding-right:0.2em} Edit this at Wikidata
  2. ^ "Contact council". Victoria Daly Regional Council. Retrieved 25 March 2019.
  3. ^ TOLLNER, DAVID WILLIAM (18 December 2013). "Local Government Act CHANGES TO LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS AND COUNCILS" (PDF). Northern Territory Government Gazette. Northern Territory Government. p. 3. Retrieved 26 April 2019. with effect from 1 January 2014:
  4. ^ Tollner, D.W. (27 June 2014). "Northern Territory of Australia Local Government Act Restructuring Order" (PDF). Government Gazettes. Northern Territory Government. pp. 1–3. Retrieved 25 March 2019.
  5. ^ "Northern Territory localities and suburbs". Place Names Committee. Northern Territory Government. Retrieved 23 April 2019.
  6. ^ "Victoria Daly Shire". Place Names Committee. Northern Territory Government. Retrieved 23 April 2019.