National Indigenous Media Awards 2016

National Indigenous Media Awards 2016

2016 National Indigenous Music Awards

With the theme ‘Protest Songs’ the NIMA’s Award and Concert was certainly a night to remember.  Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the 40th anniversary of the Land Rights Act, 30 years since the release of Yothu Yindi’s Tribal Voice and 25 years since Treaty topped the charts. At this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards the broadcast was heard right across the Top End and around Australia.

TEABBA Radio broadcasted the NIMA’s LIVE from the Amphitheatre. Bernard Namok Jnr (Bala B) team lead the broadcast this year; with Lee Hewitt and Kelly Baylis as anchor, Jason Tambling and Bala B was backstage getting interviews from the artist and rubbing shoulders with the biggest names in indigenous music stars, Brendon Barlow soaked up the atmosphere in front of the stage taking pictures and Lorena Walker from CAAMA Radio joined the broadcast team this year.

Bernard Namok Jnr (Bala B) presented the Community Music Clip award to Ngukurr Community for Break The Silence Indigenous Hip Hop Projects, White Ribbon. Gurrumul Yunipingu took out the ‘Artist of the Year’ and up and raising star Stanley ‘Gawurra Gaykamangu’ winning New Talent of the Year,  Album, Cover Art and Film Clip of the year.

2016 National Indigenous Music Award Winners

Artist of the Year

Gurrumul Yunupingu

Album of the Year


Song of the Year

The Children Came Back – Briggs

Written by Gurrumul Yunupingu, Archie Roach, Corey McGregor, Adam Briggs

Performed by Briggs, Dewayne Everettsmith & Gurrumul

New Talent of the Year


Cover Art

Ratja Yaliyali – Gawurra

DESIGNER: Jalyay JAJA Thompson

Film Clip

Ratja Yaliyali – Gawurra


Community Music Clip

Break The Silence

Ngukurr Community, Indigenous Hip Hop Projects, White Ribbon

Traditional Song of the Year

Two Sisters Journey

Ishmael Marika

Hall of Fame – Kutcha Edwards

A BIG congratulations to all the other winners on the night!

The performances on stage by AB Original, Shellie Morris

Warren H. Williams and Danielle Young, Kahl Wallis, Lonely Boys, Stanley “Gawurra” Gaykamangu, Yirrmal with his father Witiyana Marika [Yothu Yindi]

Rayella, Chris Tamwoy, David Spry and Kuren (triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner)

Big shout out to our awesome technicians Mick Cummings and Kyle Doevendans for working hard behind the scenes in making sure that we had a smooth broadcast this year. Also acknowledge PM&C (Prime Minister and Cabinet)/Indigenous Advancements Strategy the crew from CAAMA Radio, Wangki Radio in Fitzroy Crossing, the stations that picked up the broadcast through the Community Radio Networks and the organisers of the NIMA’s for putting on an awesome night to remember.

2016-11-23T16:02:44+00:00 23rd November, 2016|Uncategorized| Comments